Skip to content

The Daniel Fast and Fasting for Food

I am delighted to announce a new partnership with Compassion International, one of the most respected child-advocacy ministries in the world, and Richard Bloomer who is an associate professor at the University of Memphis. Richard and his team of researchers have conducted clinical studies that show the health benefits of the 21-Day Daniel Fast.

Together, we are all working to recruit men and women who are using the Daniel Fast to begin the New Year – to help raise funds so children who don’t have enough to eat can receive the food they need.

Go to http://Daniel-Fast.com/FFF.html to see a short video about this great opportunity to make a huge difference in the lives of hurting children. This is an exciting new program and truly puts the power of Christ’s love into action as we help those in poverty by “fasting for food.”

You can also visit the Fasting for Food site: http://FastingForFood.com

Share

63 Comments Post a comment
  1. No, only plant-based foods on the Daniel Fast.

    January 4, 2016
  2. Winsome T #

    Can I eat fish on Daniel fast?

    January 4, 2016
  3. Hi Matt,

    It’s best to find a protein powder that is unsweetened and plant-based. Then you can make your own smoothies with fruits, vegetables and unsweetened juices.

    Be blessed.

    December 26, 2014
  4. Matt #

    My church is going to do a corporate Daniel’s fast in Janurary. I’m wondering is it okay to have protein shakes? I only use with water anyways. It is sweetened but I use it for muscle repair when I go to the gym and not a dietary supplement.

    December 13, 2014
  5. Daniel Fast Team #

    Thank you Amanda, this sounds Great!!

    February 25, 2014
  6. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi James,
    The Daniel Fast is completely plant based, so there is no fish allowed. I hope this helps, Be Blessed on your fast!

    February 25, 2014
  7. James #

    Can I eat fish during this Daniel Fast? Me and my girlfriend are debating about this.

    February 25, 2014
  8. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Trashina,
    This far along into your fast this isn’t normal. If you are eating a balanced Daniel Fast diet you should not be having an upset stomach or running to the bathroom. Make sure you are eating enough whole grains and balancing that with fruits/vegetables and drinking plenty of water. It sounds like you may have picked up a bug of some sort, so take the neccessary to take care of yourself and continue on with your fast when better. I hope this helps, Be Blessed on your Fast!

    February 11, 2014
  9. Amanda #

    This is my third round of the Daniel fast and each time I get more creative and find great alternatives. I wanted to share a recipe that has changed my Daniel fast life for chia seed “pudding” when you are craving something a little sweet or need a filling breakfast.

    * 2 1/2 Cups Unsweetened Coconut Milk
    * 1/2 cup chia seeds
    * 1-2 teaspoons lemon zest
    * 2 teaspoons pure coconut extract (no artificial)

    Mix in one quart jar, shake, and let sit in the fridge overnight. It will turn into a loose tapioca pudding texture. Serve in bowls and top with fresh tropical fruit or berries. I’m going to try a variation and add cocoa powder to the mix then top with all natural pb for a little chocolaty fix.

    I hope this blesses someone. Praying for those on the fast!

    February 11, 2014
  10. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Bianca,
    I encourage you to go see your healthcare provider, put your fast on hold if neccessary and take care of your body. When you are stronger, then resume your fast. I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

    February 4, 2014
  11. bianca #

    I have been on the Daniel Fast for 7 days now, and I have gotten an upper respiratory infection. What can I have that won’t go against the fast? I have been figthing it for 2 days now. Just really in some pain. Please help.

    January 19, 2014
  12. Trashina #

    Hi I am 2 weeks in and the last couple of days have had an upset stomach and constantly going to the restroom. I am thinking maybe its from too much fiber but have no clue. Any suggestions? I dont want to break the fast but maybe ginger ale or crackers will help.

    January 18, 2014
  13. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Iris,
    Unsweetened, plant-based protein shakes would be allowed (as a meal replacement) if they are also free of artificial flavorings and man-made chemicals. Unsweetened additive free plant based milks (such as soy) are fine to use in a smoothie or shake to thin. I hope this helps, Be blessed on your fast!

    January 18, 2014
  14. Iris Gomez #

    Are protein shakes aloud on this fast?

    January 9, 2014
  15. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Tammi,
    Medications are ALWAYS allowed on the Daniel Fast, keep in mind fasting should never bring harm to the body. That’s why we tell people to continue with all medications prescribed by their health care provider (use chemical free when possible). I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

    August 1, 2013
  16. Tammi #

    I take a daily statin so should I stop taking it for 21 days? Also I can get pretty bad headaches so is aspirin off limits?

    July 31, 2013
  17. Karen #

    Hi, I’m on day 7 of the Daniel fast, I’m only fasting for 10 days. So far so good, and I can honestly say I have not been cheating. But today, today is hard. I’m HUNGRY and want a fat greasy cheeseburger with all the fixings and a side of onion rings smothered in ketchup hallelujah! God you said your grace is sufficient and I am feeling ever so weak… Please pray for me. I know this is the devil trying to tempt me, because God has been doing some awesome things in my life these past 7 days, he has even answered some of my prayers. I’m so close to the finish line… and I don’t want to throw in the towel. I know that this is a small sacrifice because Christ made the ultimate one. To God be the glory!

    March 21, 2013
  18. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi John, you can get plenty of protein in nuts, peanut butter (any nut butter), Whole grains, legumes and leafy green vegetables, also some will add in unsweetened soy (or any plant based) protein powder into a ‘smoothie’ meal (make sure all other ingredients comply with the Daniel Fast and watch out for sweeteners, chemical additives whey). And, make sure you are drinking your daily requirements of Water! I hope this helps!

    January 11, 2013
  19. john #

    Hi, my name is John. I will try to make it simple, I exercise and weight training about 5-6 days a week my concern is adequate post and regular protein intake throughout the day. Do you have any suggestions?
    God bless.

    January 11, 2013
  20. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Jessica,
    It is normal for people to lose a few pounds while on the fast (5-15) but not do to a lack of food, as we advise 3 moderate meals with 2 small snacks per day. Weight loss on the fast is directly connected to the removal of sugars, chemical additives, etc. basically “simple carbohydrates”: All of which are NOT allowed on the fast. However, you do not have to lose weight on the fast if you do not want to. Maintaining healthy body weight is a combination of Caloric intake (eating three moderate meals with two snacks per day) and Exercise. You will want to pay specific attention to your protein intake, and you can get plenty of protein in Nuts and Peanut butter, Whole grains, Legumes (beans) and Leafy Green Vegetables. And, remember to Drink Lots of Water! As a general guideline, your body needs half its body weight in ounces of water per day, i.e.: 160lbs = 80 oz. of water daily.
    The fast is traditionally done for 21 days, some have gone for a longer length of time (up to 50 days), and some for shorter (7 days). The two foundational scriptures for the fast are Daniel 1:12, he fasted with “vegetables (pulse, food grown from seed) and water only.” In Daniel 10:3 “he ate no meat or any delicate foods and drank no wine for 21 days.” These are the only guidelines in the Scripture that have helped us develop the Daniel Fast for our current day model. That’s why there is so much room for interpretation, and why I always tell people to pray about the Fast and ask the Lord to help them make decisions about altering the standard guidelines. Be Blessed!

    October 29, 2012
  21. Jessica #

    I have a question, how much weight is expected to lose on this fast? and why is it 21 days?

    October 25, 2012
  22. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Janine,
    All sparkling waters are not created equal, you will need to read the Ingredients Label. However, Perrier is a naturally carbonated water that I can recommend to you as a Daniel Fast friendly one. I hope this helps!

    February 10, 2012
  23. janine belinda beckerling #

    Can one drink soda water/cabinated water

    February 6, 2012

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.