Skip to content

God’s Chosen Fast

I am writing to ask you for money! And I admit, for this cause I will ask boldly and without any embarrassment or shame. Let me explain:

January 9th was the first day of my Daniel Fast. My purpose for fasting this year is for one primary reason . . . to help children who don’t have enough food to eat.

If you’ve read much of my writing or heard me speak, you know that I am a strong advocate for fasting. I know prayer and fasting changes people and for many their lives are forever blessed as they draw closer to God. As one who teaches about the Daniel Fast, I also know the amazing health benefits of this partial fast as we eat a plant-based diet of only foods created by our Creator. I believe with all my heart that God is pleased as we fast with a sincere and submitted heart.

God also teaches about another kind of fast. He declared it to His people in Isaiah 58:6-9 —

Is this not the fast that I have chosen: To loose the bonds of wickedness, to undo the heavy burdens, to let the oppressed go free, and that you break every yoke?

Is it not to share your bread with the hungry, and that you bring to your house the poor who are cast out; when you see the naked, that you cover him, and not hide yourself from your own flesh?

Then your light shall break forth like the morning, your healing shall spring forth speedily, and your righteousness shall go before you; the glory of the LORD shall be your rear guard.

Then you shall call, and the LORD will answer; you shall cry, and He will say, “Here I am.”

Life in Jesus calls us to care for those who are hurting. And right now as you read these words children around the world are dying because they don’t have food to eat or clean water to drink! With all the resources in the hands of God’s people, this shouldn’t be. And that’s why I can without any reservation ask you to help feed these children by donating from your financial resources to buy them food.

I’ve traveled to the poorest countries in world. I’ve seen children dying because of starvation and I can tell you it is tragic! My heart has been broken for the poor — which I am sure is nothing compared to how much God’s heart must break every hour of every day.

I am partnering with Compassion International, one of the most highly respected Christian child-advocacy ministries in the world. And so today I am asking you to join me by giving a financial gift of whatever amount the Lord leads you to give. I have decided to give the amount I spend on myself for food during the Daniel Fast. You might be able to give more . . . or perhaps you can give only a small gift at this time.

I am just asking you to give something . . . to share your bread with the hungry . . . to enter into God’s chosen fast.

You can give your gift very simply by clicking on this link: http://www.firstgiving.com/susangregory-danielfast

If you want to learn even more about the effort, go to http://Daniel-Fast.com/fff.html

Every day my team and I answer the questions of hundred of men and women who are on the Daniel Fast. They want to follow the eating plan and so their questions are valid. They want to know what they can eat . . .

I am asking you to answer the cry of children who don’t have food . . . children who also ask, “What can we eat.” But their question is more dire and the answer is more critical and mere words won’t help them.

Please, I hope you will join me in God’ chosen fast.

Be blessed, 

 

´¨)
¸.· ´¸.·*´¨)¸.·*¨)
(¸.·´
Susan

 

27 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yes, as long as you can still call it “water.” When if tips over into tea, then you’ve gone too far 🙂

    May 1, 2015
  2. Jeanette Roman #

    Hello, can I have lemons, cucumbers & mint leaves in my water?

    April 26, 2015
  3. Hilda Santos #

    Hi, Susan I thank Father God for you, this daniel fast is a blessing to me, This is my second time fasting, I have to say it been great spending time with the Lord, feeling great about myself this is from Father God. Thank you Susan! God bless you!

    July 27, 2013
  4. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Nicky,
    Whole wheat bread is not allowed on the fast, mainly due to the leavening in it. However, whole grain flat breads and tortillas (additive free, yeast and sweetener free) are allowed as an alternative. And yes, Oat porridge (Oatmeal) is a great breakfast choice, just watch what you put on it. I hope this helps, Be Blessed!

    June 14, 2012
  5. nicky #

    I greet you in the Wonderful name of Jesus our Lord and Savior. Can I eat wholewheat bread bought from the supermarket? And also can I eat Oats porridge in the morning?

    June 12, 2012
  6. Ivy Young-Culberson #

    God truly has blessed me with obedienence in this fasting.It clears my mind
    and restores my heart daily.This is my second time I did one in January
    and felt great Mind Body and Soul.

    May 10, 2011
  7. Kamilah #

    I started my fast on sunday may 1 the book is a great guide to help me on my fast I am so glad that i bought the book i would of been lost with out it thank you for wrighting a book on the daniel fast God bless

    May 4, 2011
  8. Hi Stephanie,

    This is taken from a message those on the Daniel Fast mailing list receive. The links are live, but here is the content:

    ENDING THE FAST: I do want to caution everyone about ending the fast. You will need to be careful during the first couple days of “ordinary eating.” To keep your body from rebelling loudly, reintroduce foods slowly. This is especially important when resuming coffee and caffeine, meat, dairy products and sweets. Small portions are better and easing back into consumption of these foods is advised.

    Also, when you end your fast, reflect on the lessons you learned during your fasting period. I know many have learned valuable lessons about healthy eating and want to carry those lessons into their future. Perhaps you have gained new and positive habits for prayer and daily Bible reading.

    Don’t leave these gems behind until you fast again. Instead, carry them with you and allow them to affect your everyday life.

    FOOD: I wanted to pass on some menu ideas from a couple members of our Daniel Fast Community:

    Kim Hatton found a great snack product available at Whole Foods and other supermarkets that carry natural food products. It’s called “Half Naked Popcorn” and the ingredients are organic popcorn ,organic safflower, organic soybean oil, and sea salt. Kim said, “I just want to share a very tasty snack that is healthy and pure: Half Naked popcorn – air-popped popcorn lightly sprinkled with sea salt or olive oil.” Check it out!

    Paulette Detweiler wrote with this great idea: “I have come up with some creative recipes myself. Stuff mushrooms using cornmeal and chopped pieces of whole wheat tortillas. I added the usual stuffing seasoning. Very tasty.”

    I’ve also linked another PDF file with more Daniel Fast recipes. Click on the links below and you will find:
    Faux Fruit Cobbler

    Paige’s Southern Style Daniel Fast Dinner

    Oven Roasted Vegetables

    THANK YOU! I want to extend my sincere appreciation for the many email messages I’ve received over the past many weeks. God has blessed me with the lay ministry and I am honored to communicate with so many men and women from about the world. I apologize if I have been slow with responses. I do my very best to keep up. The good news is that so many people are learning about the amazing benefits of consecrating oneself for an extended period of prayer and fasting. I praise God for His love and care for us and that we can enter His presence in this powerful way.

    Be blessed this weekend and please feel free to contact me with questions, comments or ideas. My #1 goal is to serve the Lord by serving His people!

    Be blessed,

    Susan Gregory

    The Daniel Fast Blogger
    http://www.DanielFast.wordpress.com
    http://www.Daniel-Fast.com

    April 1, 2011
  9. stephanie #

    Please write a post about the best way to break the fast.

    April 1, 2011
  10. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Yolanda,
    Yes, rice cakes are a great option for the fast, but not all rice cakes are Daniel Fast friendly. One to get you started is Lundberg Brown Rice Rice Cakes, Ingredients: Whole grain brown rice, sea salt. Here’s a link for you: http://www.lundberg.com/products/rice_cakes/Organic_Brown_Rice_Cakes_Lightly_Salted.aspx I hope this helps!

    March 31, 2011
  11. yolanda #

    Hi Susan,on the food list,we are able to have rice cakes.Isn’t that a processed food? And what are the ingredients?

    March 30, 2011
  12. Unity #

    Thanx Susan. As l read l experience the Holy Spirit led words, wisdom and an awsome fragrance of Gods presence. I am not very disciplind but am working on it but l need yo prayers plz. I also want 2 start the fast 4 a closer relationship with God.

    March 23, 2011
  13. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Jason,
    Only in recipes, not to drink as a beverage. The only beverage on the fast is water.

    March 10, 2011
  14. Ken #

    I too am fasting for a cause. I started the fast yesterday, and I can already feel my body reacting to the changes in diet. Not in a good way yet, but I know it gets better. I’ll be faithful, and finish this thing. I plan on supporting your cause. Fasting is the ultimate showing of obedience to God and I believe he will bless those who do it. Besides the spiritual benefits, God blesses the desires of our heart. Your desire to see children fed will come to pass. I will dedicate some of my prayer time everyday to this cause. Blessings, Ken.

    March 2, 2011
  15. Jason Krupp #

    I am on a daniel fast and my wife told me i could have a non concentrated,100 % pure squeezed orange juice. Is this true or not?

    March 1, 2011
  16. Sheryl #

    Hi Susan:

    I have been on the fast close to 27 days not–which includes the 7 day absolute fast. I think that I totally misread about the juice intake during the daniel fast. I have been drinking juices and i just read your reply to someone, that the Daniel Fast consist of Water as a beverage only. I had to repent to the Lord for this and will press on though.

    Be Blessed and I love and appreciate your obedience to the Call of the Lord!

    Sheryl

    March 1, 2011
  17. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Sara,
    Yes, both black rice and black beans are great food choices for the fast, just make sure there are no additives in the ingredients and you’re good to go!
    Be Blessed on your Fast!

    February 22, 2011
  18. Sara Siu #

    Hi Susan:

    Are black rice & black beans ok to eat during Daniel Fast?

    Thanks,
    Sara

    February 19, 2011
  19. Hi friend 🙂

    The only beverage on the Daniel Fast is water, but you can use your juice in recipes or in smoothies, which are considered liquid meals.

    Be blessed and thanks for your uplifting comment!

    February 8, 2011
  20. FSW #

    Hi, Susan!

    Just watched you on Paula White’s show. Thanks for taking on the tasks of sharing the good news of the Daniel Fast. I’m working my way through your website to get to know you and your ministry better. Im sure we will become great “web BFF” 🙂

    Quick question: I enjoy juicing. Is it okay to juice on the Daniel Fast?

    Hugs and blessings!

    February 6, 2011
  21. Deneese Lane #

    GOD HAS MANY BLESSINGS FOR YOU STEPHANIE 🙂

    February 2, 2011
  22. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Rowena,
    I don’t know why you can’t open the link, as they work all over the world. Could it be something in your computer or possibly with your network connection? I wish I could provide better answers for you. Be Blessed!

    January 28, 2011
  23. Rowena Butler #

    i live outside the USA. and i am unable to open the link you send also thanks for the inspritational word you send every day

    January 28, 2011
  24. Stephanie #

    Thank you. That’s pretty amazing.

    I’m very thankful for this post, I wanted to add. Susan brings up a really good point and the Scripture has certainly helped confirm a few of my own questions. I agree that hunger is a vital need that is unfortunately unmet for others around the world, and God cares very deeply for those who go without. So I may very well take up her suggestion.

    Thanks again and God bless.

    January 25, 2011
  25. Casie #

    Imagine the smile I have on my face right now. Feeding the hungry is such a big concern of mine. Which is ironic considering the amount of power I let food have in my own life. For weeks now, I feel God has been asking me to get over obsessing over food, and to turn it into feeding those that aren’t getting enough to eat. This is just what I needed to see. I’ll be sure to donate to this cause-and I can’t thank you enough for The Daniel Fast book. I love it, and the fast (Day 6) has brought me so much closer to God and has made me so much more aware. I can’t wait to see what God has in store for me in the coming weeks. 🙂

    January 23, 2011
  26. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Stephanie,
    Yes, the longest I have heard of someone doing the Daniel Fast is 50 days. He is faithfull dear one, and He will lead you!

    January 21, 2011
  27. Stephanie #

    Good afternoon Susan

    In the last couple of weeks I believe the Lord has been slowly guiding me to the act of fasting. Not knowing too much about it I started doing some research and in the process I found your blog and website. This entry in particular has stirred me for the Scripture of Isaiah 58 that you share. God’s call to fast goes beyond changing our eating habits but calls for a change in our hearts. This is what I’m after — a closer relationship with Him and restoration in my marriage.

    I’m still waiting on the Lord for additional wisdom and timing. Have you or have you known of anyone extending the Daniel Fast to more than 21 days?

    Thank you for your obedience to Christ. And many blessings!

    January 21, 2011

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.