Skip to content

Corrected Not Condemned

During the Daniel Fast we spend time examining our hearts and work to align our ways with the way of the Lord.

The other morning during my daily quiet time, I found I was doing a good job of “beating myself up.” Have you been there? My guess is that you have. So often we are our biggest critics! So I was feeling pretty frustrated with myself and kind of low.

Then I heard the Lord say in my spirit, “I only correct – I don’t condemn.”

Oh, that was a huge message with loads of truth in it. I meditated on that message for a while and I’ve been thinking about it ever since. And I’ve come to realize that the differences between correction and condemnation really show up the way our Lord works with us and the way the enemy tries to steal, kill and destroy us!

Think about the meaning and purpose of correction. When pilots correct their course while in flight, it’s because they are not aligned with the direction necessary to reach the desired destination. So they make a few changes and get back on the proper flight path.

When parents or teachers correct children it’s to instruct them of the right way to behave so the child can have success.

Proverbs 3:12 says, “For whom the LORD loves He corrects, just as a father the son in whom he delights.”

Correction is all part of reaching success. It’s necessary and part of growth. Correction is life-giving and filled with hope and care.

First Peter 5:10 teaches us, “But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you.” Sometimes our “suffering” is the correcting and learning process – but all along we are on our way to good results!

Hebrews 12:9-10 reads, “Furthermore, we have had human fathers who corrected us, and we paid them respect. Shall we not much more readily be in subjection to the Father of spirits and live? For they indeed for a few days chastened us as seemed best to them, but He for our profit, that we may be partakers of His holiness.”

We want correction from our Lord and we want to keep our hearts open to His chastening. Correction is moving forward to better results. It’s full of love, life and care.

But condemnation is totally different. Condemnation is what the enemy does to make us feel worthless, low and defeated. And we want to guard our minds and heart from his death-giving ways! Condemnation partners with shame, sorrow, self-loathing. It can paralyze us and keep us stuck. Satan’s condemnation is what Christ abolished for us!

Therefore, as through one man’s offense judgment came to all men, resulting in condemnation, even so through one Man’s righteous act the free gift came to all men, resulting in justification of life. For as by one man’s disobedience many were made sinners, so also by one Man’s obedience many will be made righteous. Romans 5:18-19

So the next time you are feeling bad about yourself . . . or when you’re picking yourself up from a fall . . . checkout what’s going on in your thoughts. Are you feeling condemned or are you being corrected. Then choose life and grow rather than be defeated and stuck!

I hope this helps! Our God is so good!

 

18 Comments Post a comment
  1. jennifer austin #

    I’m so thankful God used you for this post. I started the Daniel Fast Monday, and an hour or so after I ate my first Fast Breakfast, I suddenly had all these thoughts about the past two years and all the sins I committed as a new Christian. I started feeling extremely low and like i was so unworthy of anything. I started labeling myself as a fornicator, envious, greedy, liar, and all these things. All things that have been improving and corrected through the Holy Spirit’s guidance. Thank you, this post confirmed God’s message that I received yesterday, that condemnation is not of God, it is an attack of the evil One. Thank you Jesus.

    January 29, 2014
  2. Gloria #

    Wow! I had heard the Lord tell me the same thing (His correction and the enemy’s condemnation) I slipped on my job and said some thing that hadn’t come out of my mouth since 1982 🙂 (I went way back into the world) allowing the enemy to use someone to get me out of God’s character. As soon as I said it I felt low. The enemy even had me recalling scripture (Out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks) which made me feel like…less than a child of a Holy God. I even went back to try to apologize but they would not except my apology. I beat my self up for hours until I talked to another saint and he began to laugh and told me that we all fall short of the Glory of God, but when we fall, to get back up. I got back up when I tried to apoligze for my harsh words, and that was the real test. Your blog just reaffirmed my forgiveness with Christ. Thanks for letting the Holy Spirit use you to edify His people.

    March 2, 2013
  3. Becky McKenzie #

    Thank you so much for your support. I have 3 more days of my fast. I am beginning to see breakthroughs in several areas. It has been worth all of the challenges. I can’t wait to see what God will do this year. Thank you again for your prayers!

    February 12, 2013
  4. Daniel Fast Team #

    Be blessed on your journey, Becky. The Lord has so much for us . . . we just need to align with Him, develop our faith and walk into the future He designed for us. Thanks for your message, it’s an inspiration as we go forward into each new day!

    February 11, 2013
  5. Becky McKenzie #

    Thank you all so very much! I am so blessed to have a faithful prayer group behind me as I deal with daily challenges as I am fasting. I have just completed my 30th day of fasting. I am going for 40 days, believing for dominion over the enemy in all areas! I covet your prayers as I move forward, seeking God for all things. Thank you again!

    February 5, 2013
  6. Daniel Fast Team #

    Hi Becky,
    We are here standing in firm agreement with you that all the enemy has meant to harm you God will turn for your good! Be Blessed on your Journey!

    February 4, 2013
  7. Becky McKenzie #

    Susan, your blog helped me so much. I want to thank you for your encouragement on the subject of condemnation. I am a teacher and, since report cards have just come out a few weeks ago, parents often want to blame the teacher for the grades their children have earned. One mom complained about her son’s grade in my class to the Dean of our school. And, naturally, the Dean was at my door yesterday morning! Condemnation about this issue has been trying to buffet me all day yesterday and, even during the night. People always want to blame the teacher instead of trying to help their child themselves. At any rate, God is showing me, through my fast, that I am not condemned, and that this mother has a wounded spirit. I have begun to pray for.her spirit, that God would heal her and that I could have a restored relationship with her. I would truly appreciate your prayers for me as I push through the battle. It helps so much to know that the saints are praying for me.

    Thank you for your encouragement,
    Becky McKenzie

    January 26, 2013
  8. Linda #

    Thank you Susan,
    This message I needed it today

    January 20, 2013
  9. thank you for that reminder that if we are not careful we can fall into condemnation. The lord JESUS does not condemn any one, we do this to our selves by allowing the enemy of our soul to deceive us just like in the garden let us not do the same mistake.

    January 14, 2013
  10. Martha #

    Thank you for that note. It is very liberating. Your explanation is very clear as to the difference between correction and condemnation. I have been under condemnation most of my life but never realized it. It just became a habit in my mind to feel hopeless whenever I was corrected for something. Father God in his mercy has shed a light on this issue and set me free. Although it is a process, he is my deliverer. In regards to the scripture on correction (Romans 12:9.10) I found this same passage in Hebrews 12:9,10. I once had memorized the first 14 verses of Hebrews 12 but I missed the point because I allowed myself to feel condemned whenever I would read the verses about correction. I dreaded those scriptures or any others that had to deal with correction. Although it is hard to receive,I know it is necessary. I had to accept that because God loves us, He has to correct us to make us better not bitter. I pray that my honesty will encourage someone else to stand strong when they feel shame or guilt.

    April 17, 2012
  11. Melissa #

    Thank you for your post. God is good. I needed this one today. Blessings

    November 4, 2011
  12. Bri #

    Thank you for these words. I am feeling so much more encouraged on my walk.

    August 22, 2011
  13. KYB #

    Thanks for the encouragement! I needed this!!

    July 22, 2011
  14. meredith williams #

    Susan
    Thanks for this reminder that God is not in the condemnation business, but is always ready to forgive, and help us to the higher calling.
    I have been through quite some experience, but must admit that I never felt like giving up, but continued in prayer asking from God the strength and courage required to persevere, and HE has given to me abundantly all I ask of HIM. PRAISE THE LORD FOR HIS LOVE AND GRACE, for HIS Grace is sufficient.
    May God light your life with the Gift of HIS Love
    Meridith

    May 26, 2011
  15. Millie #

    thank you so much for this info, it has indeed been very fruitful may you continue sending tyhem to me. i have this desire just to serve the Lord in all obedience.

    take care and have a blessed day.

    May 25, 2011
  16. This is so cool, Susan. I just posted a very similar devotional today on my devotional website regarding the transformation process we go through so often in our walks with Christ, entitled, “Shriveled Beans Changed Lives.” So often we are tempted to be discouraged with the seemingly slowness of the change process in our lives, yet the Truth is that He is always at work in the open heart, and progress is always being made, regardless of how it looks on our end of things….We are being transformed from glory to glory even when it feels like we are taking one step forward and two steps backwards. His gracious correction is truly a part of that journey….condemnation truly is not!!

    Thank you for your words of grace; calling us higher…once again.

    May 24, 2011
  17. selma #

    I agree with you God is not like man. And we do beat ourselves up but must get a higher calling in God and keep looking up because the promise is with God and not with our flesh.

    May 24, 2011
  18. Pauline #

    Blessings Susan

    This is so timely.

    May 24, 2011

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.